The Case Against Sugar

The Case Against Sugar

From the best-selling author of Why We Get Fat, a groundbreaking, eye-opening exposé that makes the convincing case that sugar is the tobacco of the new millennium: backed by powerful...

Read more ›
The House of the Dead

The House of the Dead

Winner of the Cundill History Prize The House of the Dead tells the incredible hundred-year-long story of “the vast prison without a roof”...

Read more ›
House of the Sleeping Beauties and Other Stories

House of the Sleeping Beauties and Other Stories

Three surreal, erotically charged stories from Nobel Prize winner Yasunari Kawabata.   In the three long tales in this collection, Yasunari Kawabata examines...

Read more ›
If Our Bodies Could Talk

If Our Bodies Could Talk

"If you want to understand the strange workings of the human body, and the future of medicine, you must read this illuminating, engaging book." —Siddhartha Mukherjee, author of The Gene...

Read more ›
Letters to Véra

Letters to Véra

No marriage of a major twentieth-century writer is quite as beguiling as that of Vladimir Nabokov’s to Véra Slonim. She shared his delight at the enchantment...

Read more ›
My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs

My Twentieth Century Evening and Other Small Breakthroughs

The Nobel Lecture in Literature, delivered by Kazuo Ishiguro (The Remains of the Day and When We Were Orphans) at the Swedish Academy in Stockholm, Sweden, on December...

Read more ›
The Pentagon Papers

The Pentagon Papers

Drawn from Katharine Graham’s Pulitzer Prize-winning memoir Personal History, a dramatic account of how she piloted the Washington Post through the Pentagon...

Read more ›
Signals

Signals

Containing twelve new stories and nine classics from previous collections, Signals is Tim Gautreaux at his best. Effortlessly conjuring the heat and humidity of the...

Read more ›
Who Killed Piet Barol?

Who Killed Piet Barol?

One of the Best Books of the Year: Newsday, The Times, The Observer, Mail on Sunday   This “gorgeous treat of a novel” (The Times, Book of the...

Read more ›
Number 11

Number 11

Beginning in the early years of this century, Number 11 follows two friends, Alison and Rachel, as they come of age. As the narrative progresses from the...

Read more ›
The Better Brain Solution

The Better Brain Solution

From the author of the best-selling 30-Day Heart Tune-Up and Smart Fat--the first book to show how the brain can become insulin resistant through diet and lifestyle, and to make clear how and why this has been...

Read more ›
Celine

Celine

NATIONAL BESTSELLERNew York Times bestselling author of The Dog Stars“[A] gorgeously wrought story.” —Entertainment Weekly“Heller...

Read more ›
Cravings

Cravings

Since childhood, legendary folk singer Judy Collins has had a tumultuous relationship with food. Her issues with overeating nearly claimed her career and her life. For decades she...

Read more ›
Inventing America

Inventing America

From acclaimed historian Garry Wills, author of Lincoln at Gettysburg, a celebrated re-appraisal of the meaning and the source of inspiration of The Declaration of Independence,...

Read more ›
My Russian Grandmother and Her American Vacuum Cleaner

My Russian Grandmother and Her American Vacuum Cleaner

From the author of the acclaimed novel A Pigeon and a Boy comes a charming tale of family ties, over-the-top housekeeping, and the sport of storytelling in Nahalal, the village of Meir Shalev’s...

Read more ›
Schubert's Winter Journey

Schubert's Winter Journey

An exploration of the world’s most famous and challenging song cycle, Schubert's Winter Journey (Winterreise), by a leading interpreter of the work...

Read more ›
South and West

South and West

National Bestseller Joan Didion has always kept notebooks—of overheard dialogue, interviews, drafts of essays, copies of articles. South and West gives us two extended excerpts from...

Read more ›
The Boat People

The Boat People

For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat...

Read more ›
Gnomon

Gnomon

A Best Science Fiction Book of 2017 -- The GuardianFrom the widely acclaimed author of The Gone-Away World and Tigerman, comes a virtuosic new novel set in a near-future, high-tech surveillance...

Read more ›
Off the Charts

Off the Charts

From the author of the widely praised Raising America--a compelling exploration of child genius told through the gripping stories of fifteen exceptionally gifted boys and...

Read more ›
A Really Good Day

A Really Good Day

“Relentlessly honest and surprisingly funny.” – The Washington Post“Genuinely brave and human.” —The New York Times “Wildly...

Read more ›
Two Girls Down

Two Girls Down

“Opening this book is like arming a bomb--the suspense is relentless and the payoff is spectacular.  Lead character Alice Vega is sensational--I want to see lots more of her.”--Lee Child, #1...

Read more ›
Winter

Winter

WINTER. Bleak. Frosty wind, earth as iron, water as stone, so the old song goes. And now Art’s mother is seeing things.Come to think of it, Art’s seeing things himself.When...

Read more ›
The Age of American Unreason in a Culture of Lies

The Age of American Unreason in a Culture of Lies

NATIONAL BESTSELLERThe prescient and now-classic analysis of the forces of anti-intellectualism in contemporary American life--updated for the era of Trump, Twitter, Breitbart...

Read more ›

Load more